top of page
Search
brianpfergusson

My decision to run again

After nearly four years as Mayor, I've given a great deal of thought as to whether I want to sign up for another term. Between my duties as Mayor and those on the Board of the WCRM158 Wastewater Management Authority (WMA) the Town co-owns with the RM of Edenwold, I've certainly spent a great deal of time and effort to build and improve on all fronts. Regardless of the work involved, it's generally been a pretty good - as well as rewarding - experience


While development of the Town Centre has begun, at this point it's well behind what many thought it would be. Similarly, we're all waiting for the decision on the Town's application for Boundary Alteration (a.k.a. annexation), which the Town started in 2017 - SEVEN years ago. Hopefully, some day very soon the Saskatchewan Court of Appeal will render their decision and we can all move forward - regardless of what that decision may be.


The Town and the WMA continue to make progress with the Wastewater Expansion Program, critical to further development, but have faced a number of challenges along the way. Regardless, there does appear to be 'light at the end of the tunnel', and the WMA and it's owner municipalities are optimistic the worst is behind us - though we'll still need to deal with the debt burden necessary to make this happen.


On the schools front, the need has never been greater than it is now. As the community resumes growth, all of our population projections indicate a dire need for schools - both elementary and secondary / high school. We've certainly made progress in getting the attention of Prairie Valley School Division (PVSD) and some of elected officials but, as I'm sure all are aware, we haven't yet convinced the provincial government that our situation is as dire as we believe it to be. White City Council was pleased to partner with the RM of Edenwold in a joint meeting with PVSD, and while that received a good reception from PVSD, we still need to carry that initiative forward with those who can make the decision to put the badly needed schools in our community.


The last four years have not been without their difficulties and frustrations - so why would I want another term? I have a long history of signing up for and committing to things I believe important. I rode in the MS Bike Tour for 20 consecutive years. I was VP Finance of the Saskatchewan Cycling Association for 15 years. I was a Director of the Regina Chamber of Commerce for the maximum term of 6 years. I was on the Executive of the Regina Chapter of Financial Executives International for 17 years. Those terms were not without their problems or challenges, but I stayed with them 'through thick and thin'.


So, here we are in 2024. White City is carrying the highest debt it has ever had. It still faces many challenges and difficulties associated with rapid growth. Regardless, I'm committed to 'sticking with it' and working through these challenges to forge a path forward to success, no different than I have for the past 4 years.


I hope you're with me on this journey.


Thanks.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page